7 Things you probably didn’t know about me

18Mar09

… psssst! there are no memes!

Stormy Peters tagged me into the “7 Things” meme, a kind of collaborative exploration of the conscious unconscious, and apparently the only force known that moves faster than the speed of Wikipedia. How the “7 Things” meme works:

  1. Link to your original tagger(s) and list these rules in your post.
  2. Share seven facts about yourself in the post.
  3. Tag seven people at the end of your post by leaving their names and the links to their blogs.
  4. Let them know they’ve been tagged.

The Things:

  1. It makes perfect sense to me when my iPod goes from Janis Joplin to Stryper to Coldplay to Chopin to (any) Marsalis. But I never knew Myley Cyrus recorded “7 Things” until I sat down to do this post.
  2. I once led a team who implemented a major software product (component of a desktop tool suite) that had zero customer-reported defects during the first year of sales, and was eventually the only part of its suite to show a profit (when it was sold to another company). It was a bug tracking system. Which no one uses any more.
  3. If the U. S. Navy hadn’t forbad me to play my trumpet on a submarine, and taught me to type 60 wpm instead (your tax dollars at work!), I might have been a musician today, instead of a geek. Well, “instead of a software geek.”
  4. I mentor a great high school student, Snyder, (wish I had time to do this more). We hang out, talk about what’s happening, and help each other sort out what’s important.
  5. I once bought three Macintoshes, two printers, two iPods, and a load of software in a single day. In general, I see the last 20 years of computer evolution divided equally between “figuring out what the Mac did right” and “figuring out what the Mac did wrong.”
  6. I make a pretty fair cappuccino (even though I can never remember how to spell it). I get about as much practice at this as your average barista, but have only myself to judge the results. Maybe it could be a new career….
  7. I am happiest when working a speck of feathers, hook, and string over an icy mountain stream. This has very little indeed to do with catching fish.

So, who do I know who deserves to be brought into this meme? Here are some people who I’ve found all the more interesting, the more widely I knew them and their writings:

  • John Mark Walker Who manages his multiple personalities in more blogs than I can count
  • Ben Collins-Sussman Who does it all in One Single Blog (truly amazing)
  • Karl Fogel Activist, peacemaker, musician, coder, author, advocate, and friend
  • Guy Martin Witty, opinionated, provocative, savvy–and sometimes even not wrong!
  • Michael Cote Likewise. And I don’t even work with him
  • Matt Asay Pretty much my inspiration for getting into blogging
  • Jon Swanson Pretty much my inspiration for managing my blogging / life balance
