Which generation are you?

24Apr09

It’s very odd. I used to be on the younger end of the “Baby Boom” generation (born 1944-1955, and there I was in 1953). It was uncomfortable, actually: I always felt slightly left out. And after some struggle, the generation following was dubbed “the Me Generation,” with heavy emphasis on the unsavory selfishness that implies. I was glad, eager, to be at least a little over the line away from that!

But gradually, people have stopped talking about that “Me” generation. Shame, really … check the ages of the rogues of the economic melt-down; lotta “Me” going around there, it seems!

But now, I seem to be mathematically almost dead center Boomer.  Take The Technology Generation Gap at Work is Oh So Wide . (I hasten to point out that I’m far more hip than the Boomers discussed in this article!)  (“More hip”? Did I just say that?) The article, or perhaps it’s the LexisNexis survey they’re reporting, defines Boomers as “ages 44-60.” Boy, at 54, no “long tail” for me, buddy: right in the center. A bit old for the center, in fact. (That can’t be right!)

2 Responses to “Which generation are you?”

  1. 1 jrep

    Who “loves” their generation? I grew up in the “Question Authority” generation; we hated being classed with those older Boomers (we “never trusted anyone over 30”). We hated being classed, period. About the time we started turning 30 (a major scandal!), people started trying to name the next wave. They hated being classed, period. When the press settled on “Generation X,” it was not only a cry of despair at coming up with a description, it was a flag of surrender to those who rebelled at any label. That the next group was called “Generation Y” hardly needs remark as an utter collapse of creative energy.

    Like most pop-psych, in the workplace or anywhere else, it seems to me these surveys and pigeon-holeings are at their most useful when they make you stop, wonder what someone really means, and listen a bit closer. Whether the result fits in one preconceived category or another isn’t so important, only that you took the time to pay attention.

  2. 2 Stormy

    Since I ran into the book Generations at Work in an airport a while back, I’ve always found the issue of generation differences at work to be fascinating. (It was particularly relevant to me at the time because the examples of a Generation X manager with a Generation Y employee sounded like the author had been watching me!)

    I find it also funny how some people love the generation they’ve been pegged in and others try to avoid it at all costs! I never thought that the definitions themselves might be shifting on us … I’ve seen Generation X split into a couple of different subgroups before and I think that makes sense as it covers a really wide range.



